MacInsiders Logo

INTRODUCTION: To My Study of Politics

Old 03-12-2015 at 02:11 AM   #1
RonPrice

Liked: 16 Times

INTRODUCTION: To My Study of Politics
POLITICAL THEORY AND ECONOMICS

Part 1:

As a student in primary and secondary school in Canada political studies occupied a very small part of the total curriculum. In grade ten, 1959-60, I remember taking an introductory Canadian politics, or civics course, as it was called then. History, of course, contained its share of political issues and history was a subject I took every year I was a student as far back as grade four or five in 1953 to 1955, at least as far back as I remember any history being taught to me.

In the autumn of 1964 I began my first and only course in politics at McMaster University. I was then a second year student majoring in history and philosophy. It was the last course I took in politics in my four years, or five years if I include my external studies from 1974 to 1988---of tertiary studies.

Part 2:

I did teach politics on many occasions from the 1970s to the 1990s. At the Ballarat College of Advanced Education politics was part of an introductory social science course which I taught for three years to several groups of students” 1967 to 1978. I also taught politics from 1989 to 1995 at the Thornlie College of Tafe in: (i) a course entitled 'Australian Government and Legal Systems,' AGLS as it was called. AGLS was largely a course to help Australians understand their political system, and (ii) matriculation politics for students wanting to go to university. It, too, was largely focused on the Australian political system.