MacInsiders Logo

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Nuclear Threats from North Korea alee90 General Discussion 1 03-08-2013 01:54 AM
Japan's Nuclear Boy Ardougne Politics 8 03-19-2011 02:55 PM
Nuclear reactor emergency exercises Daily News MacInsiders Announcements 0 10-28-2010 08:40 AM

Nuclear Medicine?

Old 09-07-2014 at 08:39 PM   #1
hashwa

Liked: 1 Time

Nuclear Medicine?
Hi everyone,

Before I get into my whole situation, I'd like to give a brief intro - I don't know if any of the info will help, but.... Whatever! I've already decided to put it down!

I'm a Grade 12 student at Westmount Secondary, and a very confused one as well. My marks average to around 95%, but I honestly have no idea where I'm going after high school.

I was considering Nuclear Med, but I need a little bit of info.... I heard that Nuclear Medicine is a pretty big field -- or was it part of a really big field? What's exactly involved with it, and if it does branch off, what are the possibilities?

Also, (this might sound pretty stupid) but where do I start? Honestly, like what do I do -- which program should apply to (I looked under Radiology in Health Sci????), if I was going to specialize what do I do after first year (or whenever the time's right)?

Finally, just for a bit of background.... Is Nuclear Med a Bio, Physics, and/or Chem type science? I'm not sure if it'll be the best choice for me, but it is definitely one of my considerations. I'm particularly better at Physics, and then Bio and Chem. Oh and I'm taking AP Physics and Bio. Which I'm also not sure if Mac provides credits for.

Sorry for such a messy post, I'm just going to summarize the questions down here:

1. What exactly is Nuclear Medicine? Is it part of a larger field, and/or does it separate into other smaller fields that we can specialize in?

2. How do I get into it? Which first year program to apply to? If specialization can be done, what do I do?