One grade point shy from staying at Mac Tucson Academics 24 04-29-2012 03:47 AM
Staying back for a term? volatile. Academics 4 07-18-2010 03:34 PM
Staying in res second year mike_2133 General Discussion 4 12-28-2007 03:34 PM

Average for staying in Eng?

Old 12-14-2013 at 03:23 PM   #1
Briere

Liked: 2 Times

Average for staying in Eng?
I am currently in SECOND year mac eng and I am wondering if we still have to have above a 4.0 average to stay in our selected course??

link for proof would also be great.
Old 12-14-2013 at 03:36 PM   #2
Briere

anyone have any idea?
Old 12-14-2013 at 03:38 PM   #3
jim1
Elite Member

Liked: 360 Times

You need to maintain a CA of 4 each year to remain in engineering. Since you're in second year, they will look at your CA at the end of this year (not the end of this semester) and if you have a 4 or higher you're good to go, otherwise they will put you on probation.

http://registrar.mcmaster.ca /calen...-14/pg135.html
Old 12-14-2013 at 03:41 PM   #4
Briere

Quote:
Originally Posted by jim1 View Post
You need to maintain a CA of 4 each year to remain in engineering. Since you're in second year, they will look at your CA at the end of this year (not the end of this semester) and if you have a 4 or higher you're good to go, otherwise they will put you on probation.
I have never been on 'probation' what does that entail ? And do my marks from first year count as well or are they only looking at my 2nd year marks?
Old 12-14-2013 at 03:45 PM   #5
jim1
Elite Member

Take a look at the link i posted. They look at your grades from all years, that's what CA means.
Old 12-14-2013 at 03:53 PM   #6
Briere

Quote:
Take a look at the link i posted. They look at your grades from all years, that's what CA means.
what is the average where it just looks at this years marks then ? ?
Old 12-14-2013 at 04:02 PM   #7
jim1
Elite Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by Briere View Post
what is the average where it just looks at this years marks then ? ?