MacInsiders Logo
Old 12-09-2010 at 01:32 AM   #1
Mepper

Liked: 71 Times

BA vs. BSc
Hi guise. next year I'm planning on applying for Psychology, Neuroscience, and Behaviour which offers both BA and BSc. Currently I'm a Soc Sci student, but I can meet the prereqs to get into the Science program if I take Physics + a summer school course. If I do this, I can switch to the BSc program during 3rd year, since the BA and BSc require to take the exact same courses [confirmed by academic adviser].

Anyways, my question is: When it comes to looking for a job, does it matter if I have a BA or BSc? I did some research and apparently in Psych. what really matters when looking for employment is what you do after your Bachelor's. So is it worth it to switch from BA to BSc? For some reason I always thought employers would prefer someone with a BSc, but I'm not sure if this is right.

I'm gonna go talk to an academic adviser, but I though I'd get MI's advice too

Last edited by Mepper : 12-09-2010 at 02:53 AM.
Old 12-09-2010 at 01:51 AM   #2
shes-a-diva*

Liked: 18 Times

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mepper View Post
Hi guise. next year I'm planning on applying for Psychology, Neuroscience, and Behaviour which offers both BA and BSc. Currently I'm a Soc Sci student, but I can meet the prereqs to get into the Science program if I take Physics + a summer school course. If I do this, I can switch to the BSc program during 3rd year, since the BA and BSc require to take the exact same courses [confirmed by academic adviser].

Anyways, my question is: When it comes to looking for a job, does it matter if I have a BA or BSc? I did some research and apparently in Psych. what really matters when looking for employment is what you do after your Bachelor's. So is it worth it to switch from BA to BSc? For some reason I always thought employers would prefer someone with a BSc, but I'm not sure if this is right.

I'm gonna go talk to an academic adviser, but I though I'd get MI's advise too