MacInsiders Logo

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Anyone currently watching Highschool of the dead? xxsumz Anime & Comic Books 4 09-12-2010 11:31 AM
Workload in university vs highschool sinthusized First-Year / Prospective Student Questions 10 05-13-2008 04:07 PM

Do I need to take Highschool Physics for McMaster?

Old 12-06-2009 at 09:25 AM   #1
Sajee26

Liked: 0 Times

Do I need to take Highschool Physics for McMaster?
Hey guys!

I'm a High school student wondering whether or not I need to take physics in High school. I want to enroll in life science/health science program at McMaster and I was wondering whether or not it is required or recommended.
The thing is I really don't like physics, so If it turns out that I don't need it I will not take it in grade 11/12.

Thanks so much for the help!
Old 12-06-2009 at 09:31 AM   #2
feonateresa
Elite Member

Liked: 196 Times

For the Bachelor of Health Sciences program admission requirements, look here:

http://registrar.mcmaster.ca /CALEN...nt/pg1267.html

The high school courses you need...

"The following are the minimum Grade 12 U and/or M requirements under the Ontario Secondary School curriculum:
  1. English U;
  2. Biology U;
  3. Chemistry U;
  4. one of Advanced Functions U, Calculus and Vectors U or Mathematics of Data Management U. For those applicants who present with more than one of these Mathematics courses, the highest grade on the transcript at the time of review will be used to calculate the admission average;
  5. One U or M course from Social Sciences (Geography, History, Law, Psychology, Sociology) or Humanities (Art, Drama, English, French, Music, other languages);
  6. One additional U or M course in any other subject area to total six courses.
Note: Courses in technological education, science or mathematics are not acceptable as the Social Sciences or Humanities course requirement."