MacInsiders Logo

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Power companies paid not to generate electricity Mikob11 Politics 1 03-18-2011 08:01 AM

Electricity Help?

Old 04-15-2012 at 03:13 PM   #1
Crzyrio
Elite Member

Liked: 106 Times

Electricity Help?
Hey Guys,

I just need some help with basic electricity. This has nothing to do with a course but just something I am fixing up.

Basically I need to output 3.3V 1A and 5V 0.5A but have no idea how to do it. I have been out of touch with my electricity course for a long time now.

Say I bought something like this ---> http://www.ebay.ca/itm/MB102-Breadbo...t_5208w t_907

It gives me 3.3V and 5V but what about my current? Im a noob at this so any help would be greatly appreciated

I am thinking of just hunting around for power adapters that provide the above specs and then cut the ends of and splice the rest.

http://www.ebay.ca/itm/AC-110V-220V-...t_3366w t_907

http://www.ebay.ca/itm/3-3V-2-5A-AC-..._1395w t_1002

Thoughts?

Thanks
Rio
Old 04-15-2012 at 03:31 PM   #2
jewfro9000

Liked: Liked 19 Times

That supply module will have some kind of max current output listed in its specs maybe in its manual or something. It itself is going to be powered by a wall wart which will have some kind of max current out as well, so just thinking about it: Most wall warts are like 300mA - ~1A max output. If you needed to supply total 1.5 amps out of that module then I dont think it'll work for what you need it too. Mind you, this isnt rigorous calculation just a thought. Look up the specs of that board but im pretty sure it wont be powerful enough.
Old 04-15-2012 at 04:02 PM   #3
Crzyrio
Elite Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by jewfro9000 View Post