MacInsiders Logo

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Trade: ENGINEER 1D04 L04 FOR L03 RememberTwce First-Year / Prospective Student Questions 1 09-01-2010 06:46 AM
Notetaking in ENGINEER 1D04/1P03 RememberTwce First-Year / Prospective Student Questions 2 08-23-2010 09:38 PM
Engineer 1D04 Ish001 Academics 20 08-08-2010 04:34 PM

ENGINEER 1D04 (summer school)

Old 06-16-2015 at 10:13 PM   #1
Theory

Liked: 0 Times

ENGINEER 1D04 (summer school)
I'm planning on dropping MATH 2C03 (Diffy Qs) for ENGINEER 1D04 (Programming). I feel like I wasted my first term doing MUSIC 2F03 when I could have done COMP SCI 1MD3... smh...

Anyway, the prof is Tom Doyle, and was wondering if anyone had done this course with him? Also how is the course during summer school, if anyone has taken it? I am in the faculty of Science and I have some experience with Python, so I'm not sure what language will be used and so I don't know what to expect.

I will likely apply for Maths and Computer Science this fall, and would love to have 1D04 under my belt so that I can take the upper year computer science courses.

Thanks for any responses!
Old 06-16-2015 at 11:09 PM   #2
GeorgeLucas
Elite Member

Liked: 91 Times

Not sure about Tom Doyle, and not sure about 1D04 in the summer...

... but normally that's the course that separates people capable of programming and people who should stay away from it (even if they want to program). Normally it has a really stressful lab component, that people who don't program will be suffering in. The lecture component is like standard 1st year programming stuff (or even 2nd year Soft Eng 2S03 if you attend McMaster's sucky Software Engineering program)....

Idk about summer school tho, they might be going easy on you.

Theory says thanks to GeorgeLucas for this post.
Old 06-17-2015 at 12:25 AM   #3
justicebeaver

Liked: 9 Times

Look at the bottom of this for the comment of 1D04 I added, it outlines the course: