MacInsiders Logo
Old 07-26-2010 at 12:12 PM   #1
m.ne

Liked: 0 Times

Help??
I just read a post that basically said don't go to Mac for humanities or social sciences because classes get canceled due to low teaching staff or something like that. Do I need to worry about this?

I'm thinking about going into either Political Science or Peace Studies at Mac. Can anyone tell me about these programs?

Thanks.
Old 07-27-2010 at 01:23 PM   #2
britb
Mr.Spock is not dazzled.

Liked: 611 Times

Do what you want to do. Why are you letting some random post on the internet scare you off?
Old 07-27-2010 at 01:41 PM   #3
Shmowen
Absent-Minded Professor

Liked: 141 Times

I'm pretty sure that's a completely unsubstantiated claim - I'm a humanities/soc-sci student and I can say that I have never had that problem. And even if it were true (which I'm quite sure it isn't), it would probably be no more of a common phenomenon at Mac than at any other Canadian university.

In other words, don't worry!
Old 07-27-2010 at 01:43 PM   #4
Ownaginatios
Trolling ain't easy

Liked: 1,642 Times

I think what they mean rather is don't come to McMaster if you want to do something really specific. The school is running low on money (like every other university right now) so more obscure things are being cut.

Usually they don't cut it until after everyone in it has graduated (i.e. accept nobody else after year X and close the program after the last year of the year before X has graduated).

I don't know anything about Peace Studies, but if you want to go to a school more focused on political science, I think Queens is where it's at.
Old 07-27-2010 at 01:48 PM   #5
eullwm
Elite Member

Liked: 221 Times

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ownaginatios View Post
I think what they mean rather is don't come to McMaster if you want to do something really specific. The school is running low on money (like every other university right now) so more obscure things are being cut.