MacInsiders Logo

Looking for good acoustic guitar for beginners

Old 09-29-2012 at 09:08 PM   #1
lifesciman1

Liked: 59 Times

Looking for good acoustic guitar for beginners
Hi MI,

I am very new to guitars, I wanted to give it a shot. I was wondering if anyone could steer me in the right direction, in regards to buying a used/cheap guitar to start on, somewhere in Hamilton?
Old 09-29-2012 at 09:22 PM   #2
anonanon987
Power Abuser

Liked: 459 Times

There was a thread related to or on buying guitars a few days ago. I'll try and find it and post a link here.
Old 09-30-2012 at 07:28 AM   #3
Frankenseuss

Liked: 23 Times

Seagulls are excellent acoustic guitars.

Revolution1 likes this.
Old 09-30-2012 at 10:00 AM   #4
RyanC
Elite Member

Liked: 2,312 Times

There are two music shops on james street I walk by every day (one just opened), there's one on Lock street before the bridge. I thought there was one in westdale, but haven't seen it recently so..

Apparently MacBEAT meets every thursday in Bridges Cafe too. If you're buying a 'beginners' guitar, it'll run you anywhere between 150-500, depending on quality; there's one listedin the macinsiders marketplace two weeks ago for 320$.
Old 09-30-2012 at 12:14 PM   #5
lifesciman1

Quote:
Originally Posted by RyanC View Post
There are two music shops on james street I walk by every day (one just opened), there's one on Lock street before the bridge. I thought there was one in westdale, but haven't seen it recently so..

Apparently MacBEAT meets every thursday in Bridges Cafe too. If you're buying a 'beginners' guitar, it'll run you anywhere between 150-500, depending on quality; there's one listedin the macinsiders marketplace two weeks ago for 320$.
Do you think 200-250$ is a good range? maybe for a yamaha?
Old 09-30-2012 at 12:30 PM   #6
RyanC
Elite Member

Liked: 2,312 Times

Quote:
Originally Posted by lifesciman1 View Post
Do you think 200-250$ is a good range? maybe for a yamaha?