MacInsiders Logo
Old 11-02-2012 at 04:53 PM   #1
Unregistered

How is Mechatronic?
Feedbacks for those that are currently in the program? Please state your current year.

Those with co-op experience, was it difficult to obtain a position?

How hard is it to get into this program?
Old 11-02-2012 at 08:56 PM   #2
Rstevenson

Liked: 25 Times

Its hard to give unbiased feedback seeing as I havent taken any other Eng but I will attempt. It gives you a bunch of different courses from Eng Phys to Mech to Software to Tron courses. Some courses feel like filler courses and can be totally review (3N03). I like the program dont get me wrong, but there are some things that could be fixed. Tron is a newer stream of Eng so it is changing all the time. You do get some electives in fourth year but a lot of them seemed to conflict. I'm in fourth year

I wasnt in coop so I can't comment.

Also can't comment on how hard it is to get in as it was my first choice.
Old 11-02-2012 at 10:06 PM   #3
AngryBean
Account Locked

Liked: 129 Times

Tron accepts about 60 people every year. So yeah, if a lot of people want to get in you have to have your marks above average.

I don't remember exactly, but you either have 60% of software engineering program courses, or 60% of your total courses in the degree are made of software engineering courses. Either way you want to be friends with programming.

In the second year tho, you have the smallest flux of software engineering courses. You some civil stuff, some mechanical engineering stuff, some programming, some engineering physics, math etc. So they basically pack as many topics from other engineering fields as possible in the second year, and because of that don't count on those classes being easy and basic.