Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Physiology Course List pinkpiggydoe Academics 8 04-21-2010 06:16 PM

Physiology at mac

Old 01-18-2012 at 07:01 PM   #1
winter02

Liked: 7 Times

Physiology at mac
Hey guys, can anyone tell me how the Honours Biology (Physiology specialization) program is like? Considering it along with biochem =S. How is the workload, like is it a lot or is it manageable? Oh, and what would ur opinion be on taking Bio 2A03 and Kin 1YY3 in the same term?

Thanks
Old 01-18-2012 at 08:51 PM   #2
pinkpiggydoe

Liked: 14 Times

Hi, I'm in my 4th year in the Physiology program.
I think the workload is definitely manageable..I think 2nd year was heaviest for me b/c of the organic chems (but you can take them in other years or even summer like others have). 2nd year physio isn't that different from the other programs.. i believe a lot of people had to take bio 2b03, 2c03 and 2a03 regardless...3rd year courses are where you start seeing physiology courses more (i.e cell physio, 3zz3 - topics in physiology, etc).. there's also a fair bit of electives so that you can take courses that you are interested in or to complete requirements for grad/professional schools (which was why i chose physio over biopsych actually)

sry haven't taken kin 1yy3 so can't comment =P

all in all, i'm glad i'm in physiology, even my thesis has turned out to be much more than i expected... i'm doing my thesis in Dr.O'Donnell's lab which works mainly with insect physiology but there are obviously others that may interest you

good luck
Old 01-18-2012 at 08:55 PM   #3
Lois
Elite Member

Liked: 361 Times

I graduated in 2010 (guinea pig year). Physiology was tough, especially during third year with all the required courses. It's manageable. Taking 2A03 and 1YY3 isn't that difficult.

Old 01-18-2012 at 09:53 PM   #4
Mohit
Account Disabled by User

Liked: 25 Times