MacInsiders Logo
Old 08-18-2010 at 03:02 PM   #1
ShesTheMan

Liked: 0 Times

Recorder?
Do you guys recommend me purchasing a recorder? I do have a laptop but I prefer to write out my notes, though I am a slow writer and I think it would be best for me to listen to the profs during the lectures and just jot a couple important notes down and make substantial notes afterwards.
Old 08-18-2010 at 03:03 PM   #2
jhan523
MacInsiders Staff

Liked: 604 Times

Quote:
Originally Posted by ShesTheMan View Post
Do you guys recommend me purchasing a recorder? I do have a laptop but I prefer to write out my notes, though I am a slow writer and I think it would be best for me to listen to the profs during the lectures and just jot a couple important notes down and make substantial notes afterwards.
If that's what you need to do then do it.
Old 08-18-2010 at 03:04 PM   #3
goodnews.inc
MacInsiders Staff

Liked: 633 Times

People with recorders tend to wait till the last minute to transcribe them, at which point they transcribe everything. At least that's been my experience with it, that "person" being me.
I used the Quicktime Player audio recorder so i didn't have to buy one but I find listening in class nad making notes as you go much easier. It's easier to ask questions and grasp the material once you see yousrelf writing it down as they go. I remember one of the reasons I wanted to record stuff was because "What if I miss something?" I went for 3 courses this summer without recording anything and found that if I was unsure about a point, I asked the prof right away (during the break, after class, email etc) and it made my learning experience a lot more valuable and meaningful

Emma Ali
Honours Life Sciences

Old 08-18-2010 at 03:08 PM   #4
etoilex3

Liked: 65 Times