MacInsiders Logo

What should I specialize in?

Old 08-04-2011 at 11:49 AM   #1
IqzFendi

Liked: 41 Times

What should I specialize in?
Hi MI

I'm just wondering if I could have the opinions of the older and wiser on what I should specialize in.

My main aim is medical school with my top choices being Mac, McGill, UofT, UTM, Queens and UWO.

I'm currently..either 2nd or 1st year..I can't really tell 'cause I'm a transfer student from York so I already have some first year credits but I just have a few more to do.

I'm minoring in Psychology and my aim is to finish my minor by summer 2012 and I have mainly psych courses in Term 2 and 2 psych courses in Term 1. After the end of Term 2, I'll be able to register for upper year bio courses as well.

What I want to know is, which specialization would be better? Molecular Biology & Genetics OR Physio? I did check out med school pre-reqs and it seems like both will fulfill them but I may be missing something so I'd appreciate your advice.

I also read on here that M. Bio & Genetics is a better degree for research and research + a PHD is my back up plan if I don't get into med school so I'm leaning towards this specialization.

Also, I was wondering if anyone has taken PHYS 1BB3? It seems like it might be useful for bio and eventhough I'm not a big fan of physics, i may take it if I survive 1B03.

Oh, and I'm definitely planning to take the KIN anatomy and physio courses!

Thank you once again, I'd really appreciate any help I can get 'cause I'd really like to make the right decision!
Old 08-04-2011 at 12:15 PM   #2
Dopematic

Liked: 28 Times

Quote:
Originally Posted by IqzFendi View Post
Also, I was wondering if anyone has taken PHYS 1BB3? It seems like it might be useful for bio and eventhough I'm not a big fan of physics, i may take it if I survive 1B03.
I think you might need to take this course anyways since I'm pretty sure med schools require that you take a full year of physics with the lab component.