MacInsiders Logo

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
language courses MacStudent1 Academics 5 08-04-2010 09:48 PM
Language course requirements? Flag Academics 1 11-22-2009 02:00 PM
Society for Language Sciences feonateresa MacInsiders Announcements 0 11-06-2009 07:59 PM
Language courses Goce Academics 31 07-13-2009 06:24 AM
Mohawk language course. What is it like? raine Academics 8 11-28-2008 06:27 PM

Skipping a first year language course

Old 06-28-2009 at 03:41 PM   #1
missiu

Liked: 0 Times

Skipping a first year language course
I'm currently in second year, and have already failed twice in trying to get into Jap 1Z06 (first year and summer). I was planning to do a Japanese Studies minor and I need 1z06 for that. I'm also going to be co-president of the Japanese Club next year, so it really sucks that I'm not able to take the course..

The thing is, I have taken private lessons in Japanese before, and after reviewing the course syllabus and the lessons frm the textbook that's used, I realized that I'd learned most of the stuff already give or take a few lessons.

Is it possible to just skip 1Z06 altogether and take Jap 2Z03 or 2ZZ3 instead? Has anyone ever done this? And does anyone know what the process or requirements would be?

Thanks a bunch ^^
Old 06-28-2009 at 03:52 PM   #2
feonateresa
Elite Member

Liked: 196 Times

I don't know... you'd have to speak to the Languages department to ask about it, since I'm sure 1Z06 is a pre-req for those courses. I've never heard of someone doing that, but maybe they would make you take a placement test or something.
Old 06-28-2009 at 03:54 PM   #3
missiu

Quote:
Originally Posted by feonateresa View Post
I don't know... you'd have to speak to the Languages department to ask about it, since I'm sure 1Z06 is a pre-req for those courses. I've never heard of someone doing that, but maybe they would make you take a placement test or something.