MacInsiders Logo

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Thesis Supervisor from another department? MariaQ Academics 4 03-04-2013 05:39 PM
Can't find a thesis supervisor jezebel Academics 7 04-04-2012 09:13 PM
Finding A Thesis or Research Project Supervisor jhan523 MacInsiders Announcements 7 01-23-2011 12:05 AM
finding a thesis supervisor sanju Academics 0 01-22-2011 10:25 PM
Finding a thesis supervisor Lois Academics 3 05-28-2010 10:04 PM

Urgent! Difficulty finding a supervisor for PhD in Biology

Old 04-01-2014 at 11:39 PM   #1
smarvast

Liked: 0 Times

Urgent! Difficulty finding a supervisor for PhD in Biology
Hello,

I had applied to the PhD biology program ( molecular biology) a couple of months a go. I was recently notified that my application was eligible for the program. The problem is I have contacted all the profs whose research was of my intereset but they either did not reply or said they were not accepting new students.
I have a master degree from university of Ottaw and about 2 years of work experience in the same field with very good references. I do not understand why no one gives me a chance to have a meeting with them so I can show them how confident and knowledgeable I am. This is getting really frustrating!
Any one has had a similar experinece, or whoever can give me a piece of advice or suggestion? Higly appreciated!
Old 04-01-2014 at 11:57 PM   #2
Atheist?

Liked: 31 Times

My experience was with the undergrad thesis but maybe it'll help.

Just ask the professor and if they say they dont have room, they dont. Look at other profs or at different schools. Otherwise keep bugging them though they might not appreciate it.

Good luck!

smarvast says thanks to Atheist? for this post.
Old 04-02-2014 at 09:38 AM   #3
starfish
Elite Member

Liked: 572 Times