MacInsiders Logo

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
When do we buy books? and where do you get your list of what books to buy? memyselfandi First-Year / Prospective Student Questions 11 08-21-2010 08:14 PM
In Need of BOOKS! snair General Discussion 4 09-09-2009 12:57 PM
Books mmal First-Year / Prospective Student Questions 3 07-29-2009 11:58 PM
Books in PDF sycoman Academics 2 09-01-2008 12:07 AM

Used Books

Old 08-12-2008 at 10:06 AM   #1
sycoman

Liked: 9 Times

Used Books
Hey guys,

Im new to macinsiders and i need some help. Im wondering how much i should be paying for used books ?(like what percent of the the orignal price). Also, the editions for the bio1m03 books have changed from last year, does it really make a huge difference if i buy a books with an older edition?

Thanks
Old 08-12-2008 at 10:11 AM   #2
temara.brown
MacInsiders Staff

Liked: 352 Times

First off, I'd really recommend waiting until your first day of classes before you buy the books! Just because the profs might have something to say or they might have changed editions..

As for %age discounts, it varies.. I was able to get up to 50% off my books when I bought them used. Sometimes, it might only be 20%. It depends on how expensive the book was originally and where you're finding this used book (ie used at titles might be different then used from a student).

As for the bio book, I cannot say for sure as this is the first year these are coming out. Also, they've changed the names of the first year sci courses. Last year it used to be Bio1A03... So, I'm thinking maybe the way they teach the course could be different too.
Old 08-12-2008 at 10:24 AM   #3
sycoman

Liked: 9 Times

I dont think they changed the bio courses as im also going to be taking bio1A03 second term. Im not sure if you guys had 1m03 last year or not. But i know they changed some of the other science courses.