MacInsiders Logo

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SFWR ENG 2DA4 - Digital System Principles and Logic Ownaginatios 2nd Year Course Reviews 4 09-13-2011 11:57 PM

2da3 - Digital Logic

Old 11-22-2008 at 11:14 AM   #1
crazy1291

Liked: 0 Times

2da3 - Digital Logic
Hi everyone,

I am a second year Eng student, and for one of my classes the Prof expects us to do a project during exam period. (Project is due, December 15, 2008)

This is really going to conflict with study time for exams, and I was wondering if a proffessor is allowed to do this.

I looked through here "http://www.mcmaster.ca/policy/" and didn't find anything on this sort of situation.

Is the professor allowed to assign us a final project to do during exam period?
Old 11-22-2008 at 11:48 AM   #2
gregster

No, they shouldn't be. See: http://www.mcmaster.ca/univsec/policy/UGCourseMgmt.pdf
Old 11-22-2008 at 11:51 AM   #3
gregster

More specifically:

Quote:
Purpose:
The Assessment Ban is intended to enable students to continue to attend classes and start preparing for examinations held during the official University examination period.
a)
There is a university-wide ban on examinations and tests in the final week of classes: see below for exemptions. Each year the dates will be listed in the SESSIONAL DATES section of the undergraduate calendar.
Application:
a)
Assignments worth more than 10% of the final course grade cannot be assigned during the examination ban period.
b)
Tests and exams cannot be scheduled during the examination ban period.
c)
Take home exams worth more than 10% of the final course grade cannot be due during the examination ban period.
Exemptions:
a)
Tests, including lab tests, are exempt when they have the following characteristics:

The test is held in the normal class or lab time slot;

The test is worth no more than 10% of the final course grade.
b)