Astronomy??? Taylor.C. Academics 1 06-09-2010 03:34 PM
Minor in Astronomy? Enge Academics 4 04-17-2010 09:27 PM

astronomy 1f03

Old 06-04-2010 at 06:55 PM   #1
twitterbird

Liked: 1 Time

astronomy 1f03
Can anyone tell me about this course..
how the assignments are/ how many, how many tests/ how hard are they?
does it consists of alot of physics/math?
i feel like since its only three lectures a week there isnt very much work involved aside from studying for the tests?
thanks in advnace
Old 06-05-2010 at 02:54 PM   #2
doug

Liked: 82 Times

Hey,

I took this course during semester one and it was a really fun course!

You have web assignments on something called Mastering Astronomy, though a lot of the stuff on the online assignments have to be self taught through the textbook, so you'll definitely want to purchase that.

The lectures are fun and easy to follow, but they do deal with Kepler's laws and other such space formulas. So be prepared to do some math.

Overall it was a really enjoyable course!
Old 06-05-2010 at 03:31 PM   #3
julianface
Elite Member

Liked: 187 Times

too bad computer science students can't take it , interferes perfectly with a comp sci course
Old 06-05-2010 at 03:35 PM   #4
Melanieee
Cla$$y Lady

Liked: 103 Times

I found that having a background in physics really helped understand alot of the things, some of it is just pure grade 12 physics anyway. it was fun and interesting, the assignments wernt too hard, but the paper we wrote apparently was, because that was my lowest mark on an assignment ever. but if youre better at writting research papers than me then youll get a good mark
Old 06-05-2010 at 06:23 PM   #5
taylojl

Liked: 20 Times

I took Astro 1F03 back in first year. It was one of my favourite courses. If you have a basic physics background, you should be fine. The research project was really interesting and fun to do. I don't know of anyone who didn't enjoy this course.
Old 06-06-2010 at 11:25 AM   #6
twitterbird

Liked: 1 Time