MacInsiders Logo

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Astronomy??? Taylor.C. Academics 1 06-09-2010 03:34 PM
Minor in Astronomy? Enge Academics 4 04-17-2010 09:27 PM
Astronomy and Telescope stevennevets First-Year / Prospective Student Questions 1 08-28-2008 05:01 PM

So I want to minor in Astronomy.

Old 06-06-2010 at 08:42 PM   #1
Boolean

Liked: 169 Times

So I want to minor in Astronomy.
Alright couple questions about this:

1. Alot of the courses are physics courses including 1B03. I took 1D03 last year and I'm wondering if I can have that take its place (who can I ask about this?).

2. CAN I minor in astronomy if i'm in engineering? (I ask because in first year we were not allowed to take a specific astronomy course). Is that just because of conflicts with first year courses?

3. I have no knowledge about minors, any info you can spit out would most likely be useful to me.

Thanks in advance!!

if(at_first_you_dont_su cceed) break;

Old 06-06-2010 at 08:56 PM   #2
Melanieee
Cla$$y Lady

Liked: 103 Times

I thought engineers can't minor in anything since they barely get electives..
Old 06-06-2010 at 08:57 PM   #3
AnguishedEnd
Elite Member

I was also interested in doing this too. I'm sure you can minor in Astronomy but fitting it into your fall/winter timetable may be difficult and you may end up having to take summer school or if you take Society you can use the focus electives to minor in it . Also about Physics 1B03 and subbing in 1D03 instead I'm not sure but your best bet is to contact Sally Williams or one of the academic advisers in the eng office.

btw I see your entering into Tron next year so you'll already have two courses towards the minor, Eng Phys 2A04 and Math 2Z03!
Old 06-06-2010 at 09:14 PM   #4
~*Sara*~
MacInsiders Staff

Liked: 624 Times