MacInsiders Logo

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MCAT Prep Princeton X!Bilet Academics 11 05-31-2010 09:24 AM
Recommended Courses for the MCAT? pat2010 Academics 8 03-20-2010 01:13 PM
Mcat? Al-mansi General Discussion 6 10-16-2009 04:12 PM
MCAT physics maryam17 First-Year / Prospective Student Questions 7 07-27-2009 08:25 PM

best MCAT prep books

Old 05-10-2010 at 07:37 PM   #1
maryam17

Liked: 2 Times

best MCAT prep books
Does anybody know the best books for self-study for the MCAT. (eg. Kaplan, Princeton, ExamKrackers). I know some books are better for particular parts of the MCAT (for example, physical science, biological science, verbal reasoning, and writing). Any feedback would be greatly appreciated since I don't know many people who have already taken the MCAT.

I have some experience with first year biology and general chemistry, but not much in physics and organic chemistry. So if anyone can point out books that are detailed for these sections that would be great.

thanks so much!!

-Maryam
Old 05-10-2010 at 07:51 PM   #2
SciMania
Elite Member

Liked: 74 Times

Kaplan is not extensive in the physical sciences (specifically organic chemistry and physics) - for this, if these are your weaker areas (i.e. less background in these subjects), I would recommend Examkrackers. Kaplan's book is very well written though and really clear and an easy read so it's a good choice.

So my recommendation: Kaplan + Examkrackers (either the full 5 EK books which are a better deal, or just the EK physics/chemistry)

Also, I would suggest buying the Kaplan book new because it comes with an access code online which gives you access to some great resources - a diagnostic quiz, an online syllabus - its essentially a really good tool for self study - every month they have new quizzes, things like that.

Chapters website is a good place to start looking for these books. The in store selections are really crappy.

Hope that helps!