MacInsiders Logo

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mcat? Al-mansi General Discussion 6 10-16-2009 04:12 PM
MCAT physics maryam17 First-Year / Prospective Student Questions 7 07-27-2009 08:25 PM
physics recommended - do i still need it? magicalland Academics 4 06-17-2009 01:47 PM
Recommended Profs?? blackdragon Academics 4 06-15-2009 05:52 PM
Engineering and International Studies - Recommended 1st Year Courses jordan First-Year / Prospective Student Questions 1 07-17-2008 07:33 PM

Recommended Courses for the MCAT?

Old 03-19-2010 at 12:47 AM   #1
pat2010

Liked: 0 Times

Recommended Courses for the MCAT?
Hi. I am currently a first year student planning to write the MCAT during second year summer.

I was planning on taking a summer course (this summer) either for Orgo 2OA3 or Physics 1B03. I am not concerned with doing these courses now for the sake of med school requirements (which I can always worry about third year). My primary concern is being prepared for writing the MCAT. That said, which of the two courses is then more important to take?

From the perspective of someone whose taken either of these two courses and then written the MCAT, does this aid in MCAT preparation? Or are these courses taken simply for the sake of filling med school requirements versus gaining knowledge for the MCAT? Do people who've written the MCAT recommend taking either of these courses? Or do they just provide unnecessary information beyond the content of what's tested on the MCAT?
Old 03-19-2010 at 09:52 AM   #2
emtee10
Mac Lifer

Liked: 49 Times

I wrote the MCAT in the summer after second year, and I didn't take either of those courses. MCAT review books cover everything that you'll need to know in order to do well on the test. I can't say whether or not taking those courses would help at all, but they certainly aren't necessary.

aya017, pat2010 all say thanks to emtee10 for this post.
Old 03-19-2010 at 12:19 PM   #3
rlevitin
MacInsiders Street Team