MacInsiders Logo

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Is the Communications program competitive? Vessi Academics 25 02-16-2013 04:12 PM
How competitive is the biophysio/bio program sadeghi94 Academics 0 12-23-2012 10:44 PM
Life Science ..competitive? Missions Introduce Yourself 13 05-11-2011 07:26 PM
Any competitive CS players around? nawedc Gaming 6 11-05-2010 12:50 PM

How competitive is Bcomm co op?

Members have rated post #361289 as the best response. Skip right to it!
Old 02-26-2013 at 11:16 AM   #16
starfish
Elite Member

Liked: 572 Times

Quote:
Originally Posted by sarah2874 View Post
I'm in second year commerce, so I'm probably a little biased, but I think the program is great. I saw that a few people corrected you on the fact that DeGroote offers internships, not co-ops to its undergrad students. So (not to be condescending or anything, but in case you didn't know) internship is different because its only after third year, and you find either a 12 or 16 month placement. Meanwhile for co-ops, you go to school, then find a co-op placement (for a shorter amount of time, around four months I think), then go back to school for a while, then get another co-op placement, etc. until you graduate. Both co-op and internship programs should give you around the same job experience, since they both add one year to your program length. The main difference is that in internships you do it all at once, and all in one place.
Also, I don't know about whether co-ops are generally paid, but internships are. So that helps financially if that's an issue. And while I'm not an expert on how competitive it is, I haven't heard people complaining that its so terribly hard to get into.
Good luck and I hope that you're happy with whatever decision you make!
In order to be an accredited co-op program, the placements must be paid

sarah2874 says thanks to starfish for this post.
Old 02-26-2013 at 08:48 PM   #17
Cliu91
Taylor Gang Lifestyle

Liked: 325 Times