MacInsiders Logo

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dropping a Third Year Course ghumanm Academics 2 01-06-2014 05:02 PM
Taking 2nd year courses in 3rd or 4th year LindsayL216 Academics 2 06-06-2012 09:26 AM
dropping a course in first year? aw07 General Discussion 6 10-14-2011 05:23 PM
Dropping out of First Year. HELP PLEASE. bazinga First-Year / Prospective Student Questions 5 09-02-2011 07:48 PM

Dropping a Course in 4th Year

Old 10-19-2016 at 08:22 PM   #1
MovingTarget

Liked: 6 Times

Dropping a Course in 4th Year
Hey guys,

So I'm a 4th year science student who is currently on track to graduate this year. My problem is that I really dislike one of my electives. I know that the add/drop period has passed so obviously I can't just swap it for another course. If I was in any other year I could just drop it and take a course in the summer or another year. However, being in 4th year now I feel as though if I drop it, I'll have to take a course during the summer which screws up my plans to graduate this spring, find a summer job, and apply to graduate schools (since I would no longer be taking a full course load).

I do plan to drop in to the academic advisor office but I was just wondering if any of you have advice/comments for me.

Thanks!
Old 10-19-2016 at 11:16 PM   #2
GeorgeLucas
Elite Member

Liked: 91 Times

You need to tough it out it seems. Not liking a course doesn't justify you dropping it, unless you don't like it so much it hurts your grade in it.
Old 10-20-2016 at 07:56 PM   #3
starfish
Elite Member

Liked: 580 Times

Either stick it out or overload next term.
Old 10-28-2016 at 04:31 PM   #4
Alomar12

Liked: 42 Times

Keep in mind that most graduate or professional schools either look solely at your last X credits (usually 20) or weight those more heavily. I generally agree with the advice to stick it out, unless the disinterest will result in poor effort/unsubmitted assignments, which in turn leads to a poor grade.