MacInsiders Logo

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
final mark MacJk First-Year / Prospective Student Questions 9 05-03-2012 10:57 AM
FInal exams AM17 First-Year / Prospective Student Questions 5 11-05-2011 10:31 AM
final marks MacJk First-Year / Prospective Student Questions 6 10-26-2011 08:48 PM
Stanley Cup Final Infinity General Discussion 18 06-16-2009 06:51 PM
Quarters - The Final Five temara.brown MacInsiders Announcements 25 04-10-2009 11:10 AM

Dropping a Course Before a Final

Old 12-14-2013 at 04:51 PM   #1
parkmv

Liked: 0 Times

Dropping a Course Before a Final
Hello! I am not doing well in Intro to Econ (I am in first year social sciences) and am planning on dropping the course before the final this Friday. HOWEVER, if I drop the course.. will it show up as a 0 on my GPA and lower my average???

If it does, I will not drop the course and pass with a 50% most likely... which is better than a 0.
If it doesn't, I will surely drop it and make-up for the dropped course next semester/this summer.

Thank you to anyone who can help
Old 12-14-2013 at 04:53 PM   #2
Atheist?

Liked: 31 Times

it will show up as a 0

kinda late to be changing your mind on a course as well....
Old 12-14-2013 at 04:55 PM   #3
jim1
Elite Member

Liked: 360 Times

You can't drop courses anymore. The last date to cancel any classes was November 8
You just have to try your best for the final. By the way, when you drop/cancel a course it won't show as a zero on your grade report.
Old 12-14-2013 at 05:00 PM   #4
parkmv

Liked: 0 Times

Thank you both!

So if I "canceled or dropped" the course tonight, it would not show up on my transcript as a 0 thus not lower my average?

On SOLAR it reads "academic failure by default" which means that will show on my transcript which I am fine with, but will it lower my GPA average? Because that I am not fine with :(
Old 12-14-2013 at 05:01 PM   #5
Atheist?

Liked: 31 Times