MacInsiders Logo

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Phys 1L03 neeti10 Academics 3 09-22-2010 09:53 AM
shout out to all who got into eng phys!!! mehtad5 Academics 12 06-14-2010 01:51 PM
Second Year Eng Phys erinn Academics 4 06-09-2010 01:57 PM
Med Phys 1e03 Kamiee Academics 5 10-24-2009 10:21 AM
Eng Phys 2a04 AnguishedEnd Academics 2 08-23-2009 12:18 AM

Eng Phys

Old 01-26-2010 at 12:07 AM   #1
cddbc

Liked: 0 Times

Eng Phys
Hey
I am a first year eng student and i am starting to think about what stream i want to go into next year. My top choice so far is eng phys. From what i have found it looks like a very interesting program. My only issue is that i am not good at all at programming and someone told me that there is programming in eng phys. i was wondering if someone could verify how much programming is done in eng phys and whether it is a good idea to persue it without a strong programming backround.

Thanks alot
Old 01-26-2010 at 07:17 AM   #2
ash0000

Liked: 41 Times

Hi

There is some programming in it, but it isnt the main purpose of the program. Everything you learn in first year will leave you sufficiently prepared.

The programming primarily happens for one course, though a couple other courses give might give you 1 or 2 problems where the easiest solution is to make some code to solve the problem for you. Most of the problems are like that actually. As long as you pass 1D04, you should have a sufficient base.

I wouldn't say the programming aspect should be what turns you off from phys, it is definitely not significant enough.

Hope that helps!
Old 01-26-2010 at 01:01 PM   #3
cddbc

Liked: 0 Times

thanks for your insight. which language would you use in eng phys when you have to program?
Old 01-26-2010 at 01:40 PM   #4
ash0000

Liked: 41 Times

In that one course you can use C, BASIC, Fortran, and one more (i forget the fourth)

I have pretty much used C exclusively for 90% of my work.
Old 01-26-2010 at 02:06 PM   #5
Geek