MacInsiders Logo

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Failing ECON 2X03 shaziah Academics 4 07-18-2010 03:48 PM
Currently failing physiology.. any help or tips or comments? mcm2 Academics 20 04-23-2010 09:20 PM
Need more information about a mark savannah123 Academics 9 01-21-2010 05:56 PM
Failing Midterms resh.jyoti Academics 23 11-16-2009 02:28 PM
Failing Math 1Z04. Not so bad? Kurt_ First-Year / Prospective Student Questions 54 12-18-2008 04:57 PM

What is a failing mark?

Old 01-09-2010 at 11:51 PM   #1
Cassandraa87

Liked: 1 Time

What is a failing mark?
ok so i am in 1st year humanities and after completing my exams i realized i got a D+ in english. I got higher than a C- in everything else but i was just wondering if my D+ in english means that I failed the course?
If so am I going to have to make that class up again?

Also, to get into 2nd year do I need a certain average of all 10 courses to get in ? Or how does that work?

Thanks
Old 01-09-2010 at 11:56 PM   #2
Jake

Liked: 107 Times

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cassandraa87 View Post
ok so i am in 1st year humanities and after completing my exams i realized i got a D+ in english. I got higher than a C- in everything else but i was just wondering if my D+ in english means that I failed the course?
If so am I going to have to make that class up again?

Also, to get into 2nd year do I need a certain average of all 10 courses to get in ? Or how does that work?

Thanks
No, you didn't fail the course. A failing mark is a F, which is a 0. As for the grading scale, and calculating your average, check this out:

http://registrar.mcmaster.ca /calen...05/sec_118.htm

I'm not sure how it works in Humanities but to get into your major, you do need a certain average.

Old 01-09-2010 at 11:58 PM   #3
Cassandraa87

Liked: 1 Time

Thank You so much that helped alot !!
Old 01-10-2010 at 12:03 AM   #4
reeves
Jedi IRL

Liked: 557 Times

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cassandraa87 View Post

Thanks