MacInsiders Logo

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Prospective Business Student With Some Questions T-Core First-Year / Prospective Student Questions 9 05-08-2010 03:19 PM
prospective student GraceChoi First-Year / Prospective Student Questions 3 03-21-2010 09:20 AM
Ualberta student wanting to transfer to McMaster Engineering Oilers Academics 1 11-09-2008 02:22 PM
I question if im an engineering student..I have a nice timetable? kenvin100 Academics 4 08-10-2008 07:57 PM
Prospective Student Tours Chad MacInsiders Announcements 0 03-15-2008 01:02 PM

Firt year engineering- prospective student

Old 12-30-2009 at 07:36 PM   #1
stargazer710

Liked: 0 Times

Firt year engineering- prospective student
Hi i was wondering was exactly the engineering 1 program offered at Mac is all about.
I would like to apply for the program, but im not sure if i would enjoy it. So is it a general engineering first year and then when do you get to specialize? Is it similar to track 1 engineering at U of T?
Old 12-30-2009 at 07:59 PM   #2
mike_302
Elite Member

Liked: 422 Times

It is SIMILAR to Track 1 at U of T, but not exactly the same in the sense that U of T (I believe, as I also applied there, with no intention of going anywhere but Mac, last year) allows first year students to pick their stream right from Day 1 if they would like, or go Track 1 if they would prefer... Not every first year is doing the same thing at U of T, and consequently, not everyone goes into their program knowing the bare bones of everything engineering.

At Mac (I'm in first year right now), we are all doing the exact same classes, with the exception of 1 or 2 electives, and at the end of year 1, we will all be just a bit further ahead of where we were at the end of high school, but it will be a SOLID, FIRM ground for learning the rest of engineering from there, in any one of your respected courses.