MacInsiders Logo

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
French 1A06 laurastevens 1st Year Course Reviews 73 06-09-2015 02:33 AM
French 1A06 course outline akikokoyoki Academics 4 09-17-2010 11:03 PM
Marks in French 1A06? Soph08 First-Year / Prospective Student Questions 11 07-05-2010 10:34 PM
Anyone looking to drop French 1A06 nlobo Academics 2 06-14-2010 01:17 PM
French 1a06 shleyaa Academics 12 07-04-2008 06:42 PM

Forced into French 1A06

Old 07-05-2008 at 05:55 AM   #1
Alvand

Liked: 39 Times

Forced into French 1A06
I'm interested in taking a language course next year as part of my electives, but since I graduated high school through French Immersion, the only french course I can take is French 1A06 Intro to French Studies: Advanced Level. I want to keep working on my french,but I believe that my french speaking, writing, and grammar abilities are not strong enough to do well in this course, and I am not allowed to take a language assessment test to see if i will be a better fit in less-difficult course.

I was put into Edwards Hall, which has the Lifestyle Theme of La Maison Francaise and International House, so I presume I will be speaking french there anyways.

I am also considering starting Spanish from scratch. I doubt I will lose my french-speaking abilities if I do not take a french course, and this way I can also learn a new language.

I have another option, which is not taking any language course and opening my timetable to two more electives.

Any advice from any students would be greatly appreciated!

Thank you
Old 07-06-2008 at 10:41 AM   #2
Alvand

I decided to switch French 1A06 to Beginner's Spanish but I found out it is full. Then I thought about Italian or Japanese, but those are full as well, so I'm thinking about German.

Any comments are still appreciated!

Last edited by Alvand : 07-06-2008 at 10:53 AM.
Old 07-09-2008 at 03:20 PM   #3
jag6232

Liked: 0 Times