Professor Rating
80%80%80%
Interest
90%90%90%
Easiness
80%80%80%
Average 85%
Health Science 3I03

I majored in biochemistry and this was the first (and only) health sciences course that I took during my undergrad.

The course (during the fall 2007 semester) was taught by four professors, each offering a slightly different approach to their teaching and injecting their own style into the curriculum. Personally, I found having an alternating set of professors to be quite refreshing. A few of my classmates, however, felt that this upset the 'flow' of the material. Although they were not mandatory, the tutorials were helpful and the TAs were good at reiterating concepts and clarifying doubts. Moreover, Podcasts were available subsequent to each class - definitely worth listening again to segments where I zoned out or couldn't keep up with the writing.

Over the course of the semester, students are introduced to the concepts of innate immunity, adaptive immunity, how these two are interdependent and function together. There is definitely a lot of rote memorization although the emphasis is on the 'big picture'. To do well in the course, it is essential to understand the concepts and have a decent grasp on the specifics.

The grading scale is as follows: 10% tutorial, 2 midterms and a final. If I recall correctly, the midterms were 20% each and the final was worth 50%. The tutorial assignments were graded on a pass/fail basis and a complete rating on all three assignments is equivalent to a full 10% on the tutorial component.

If you've ever been curious in questions like:
1) How do allergies come about?
2) Why are auto-immune disorders so devastating?
3) What are memory B cells and T helper cells?

Then this course is definitely worth your time and enrollment.

0t10, Anaam, anubhagat, sinthusized all say thanks to dreus for this post.
Deleted Post
Edit/Delete Message
Click here to add your own review for Health Science 3I03!

Old 07-11-2009 at 08:54 PM   #2
naimaa