MacInsiders Logo

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cleaning Dorm Mich123 Residence & Housing 3 04-22-2011 11:36 AM
Laptop processor differences and Laptop opinions **jewel 03** Computers & Tech 42 10-30-2010 03:43 PM

Laptop cleaning?

Old 09-29-2011 at 01:23 PM   #1
Vuci
magnus

Liked: 0 Times

Laptop cleaning?
Hey,

I'm just wondering if anyone has cleaned or had someone clean their laptop externally (like your fans, heat sink and stuff) and if it actually made a difference (worth it?)?

My toshiba satellite been freezing on me lately and i've been using it for 3 years. I haven't ever cleaned it (from the inside). It didn't use to do anything I or others couldn't fix. So I'm wondering if I should get it cleaned out or buy a new one...
Old 09-29-2011 at 01:49 PM   #2
L'Étoile
Tooth Fairy

Liked: 543 Times

its not worth it, buy a new one. Honestly, laptops are so cheap now. just get a new one.

McMaster University, Honours B.Sc. in Biology '13, Minor in Psychology

University of British Columbia, DMD '17, Doctor of Dental Medicine
Old 09-29-2011 at 04:06 PM   #3
Elliott779

Liked: 35 Times

Quote:
Originally Posted by L'Étoile View Post
its not worth it, buy a new one. Honestly, laptops are so cheap now. just get a new one.
Laptops are cheap, but not as cheap as a 7$ can of compressed air.

That being said, an external cleaning wouldn't really result in a "speed boost" or anything, but it could solve a freezing issue, depending on what is causing it (i.e. overheating).

It's certainly worth a shot, for the price.

Vuci says thanks to Elliott779 for this post.
Old 09-29-2011 at 05:20 PM   #4
anonanon987
Power Abuser

Liked: 459 Times

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vuci View Post
Hey,

I'm just wondering if anyone has cleaned or had someone clean their laptop externally (like your fans, heat sink and stuff) and if it actually made a difference (worth it?)?