MacInsiders Logo

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
School Of Business (DeGroote School of Business) Chad Academics 58 09-12-2011 10:53 AM
McMaster Summer School for high school student MacPack First-Year / Prospective Student Questions 12 08-04-2010 06:35 PM
Non-school? andrew22 General Discussion 7 01-20-2010 01:16 AM
Required courses for second year, med school, summer school, etc. kwyhan First-Year / Prospective Student Questions 12 12-26-2009 07:14 PM
Getting into Med School Keenu Academics 39 12-19-2009 11:23 PM

Law School

Old 12-11-2009 at 08:16 PM   #1
soomroau

Liked: 0 Times

Law School
Hi

I am currently in second year engineering, and I want to pursue law later on

(specifically into patent law) . What is the minimum GPA required to get me into a

decent Canadian law school and how much does the LCAT matter in

comparison to the GPA. I also heard they assess your GPA in comparison to the

difficulty of your program? Is this true?

Any input from people who have applied or are in the process of doing so would

be greatly appreciated.

Thanks
Old 12-11-2009 at 08:32 PM   #2
Rossclot

Liked: 137 Times

I am not a wealth of information on this subject, but if you go to Career Services, GH 110, they are typically a great source of info. They know a lot of places to look for information.
Old 12-11-2009 at 08:35 PM   #3
feonateresa
Elite Member

Liked: 196 Times

The minimum GPA depends on the school, but it is usually B+ to an A-. However, consider that applicants usually have higher GPA's.

The LSAT is very important, and is usually considered on the same level as your GPA. It really doesn't matter what program you're coming from, they honestly don't really care about that, so they won't compare your GPA to it.

You'll also need reference letters, volunteer hours, and a personal letter.

How I know all of that, I once went to a meeting where an admissions/professor from Osgoode came to Mac.
Old 12-11-2009 at 08:42 PM   #4