MacInsiders Logo

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Anyone taking MATH 1B03 OR ECON 1B03 right now? Aeria Academics 9 11-06-2011 05:59 PM

Math 1B03

Old 11-29-2011 at 05:08 PM   #1
schmane

Liked: 3 Times

Math 1B03
I'm trying to plan my courses for next term because I have a few third year courses (I'm in second year economics). I recently decided to minor in math, so I need to take Math 1B03. Unfortunately, it's full and there's only one core. The math department told me that "once it's full, it's full," which I found particularly helpful. /sarcasm

I was wondering if there's anybody who's in that course right now that would be switching out? I need to get in so badly because I don't want to be taking first year math next year in my third year.

Thanks a lot!

- Shane

PS, does anyone know who I can call that would open the course for me? Math department is of the least amount of help.
Old 11-29-2011 at 05:51 PM   #2
Faer
Elite Member

Liked: 338 Times

Did you contact the mats department in general? I'd suggest contacting the profs. I don't know how helpful that would be, though. Just explain your circumstances.

I've got spots in two classes in that way, though they were bio ones (and I contacted the department...but you know! It's worth a shot.)

Good luck getting in. I took it with the same goal in mind, so I know how frustrating it is if your schedule doesn't match up.
Old 11-29-2011 at 06:56 PM   #3
nerual
Account Disabled by User

Liked: 345 Times

In my experience, the math department is very good about opening up spots for people, but the room it's in will have a physical capacity, and they can't open up an infinite amount of spots. So when they say the course is full, that's probably what they mean, and contacting other people won't make the room bigger. Your best bet is probably to hope someone drops.
Also, taking a first-year course in third year isn't the worst thing in the world...no one really cares what year you're in.