MacInsiders Logo

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
missing move-in day dumbconsumer Residence & Housing 3 08-20-2010 11:12 AM
Which is better? A difficult degree with a slightly lower mark or an easier degree... Porsche Academics 14 06-04-2010 10:57 PM
Missing! mackid91 General Discussion 5 02-03-2010 11:29 AM
Missing Course Codes Hiraiyomi First-Year / Prospective Student Questions 3 07-31-2008 05:17 PM
Missing barcode for MAC ID tungo89 First-Year / Prospective Student Questions 2 06-09-2008 12:56 PM

Missing only 1 pre-req course for degree

Old 08-08-2010 at 08:03 PM   #1
jordan19

Liked: 19 Times

Missing only 1 pre-req course for degree
Hi,
I'm a level 3 student in the faculty of science. For my program, I am required to take a course - but I am not interested in taking it - besides it is very difficult, from what I have heard from the upper years, and may dampen my grades - which are of utmost important for professional school (Didn't do too well first year, still recovering). The thing is that this course does NOT serve as a pre-req for any upper year courses. What will happen if I don't complete this course? Will I not get a degree? Can I just drop to a general science degree instead?
I have tried reasoning with the dept head to "opt out of the course", and this has been an unfruitful endeavor. I have heard of a bachelor of health science students opt out of some required courses, and still was able to obtain their degree. Does anybody have any experience or insight about what to do?
Thanks,
Jordan

Last edited by jordan19 : 08-08-2010 at 08:10 PM.
Old 08-08-2010 at 08:31 PM   #2
Marlowe
Elite Member

Liked: 421 Times