MacInsiders Logo

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mac Nursing Caitlyn Academics 158 07-23-2011 10:50 AM
First year nursing student :P anyone else taking nursing and if not message still :) C.RUMBLE Introduce Yourself 9 08-27-2010 12:56 PM

Nursing

Old 02-02-2014 at 04:16 PM   #1
lisar96

Liked: 4 Times

Nursing
Hello! I’m a grade 12 student and I applied to Mac for nursing.
I was wondering if there are any 1st or 2nd year nursing students willing to share their experiences?

I have a few questions if anybody can answer them:
- What exactly is Problem-Based Learning (PBL)? Is throwing problems at you and then you work as a group to solve them? Do you think PBL is more effective than a traditional lecture? Would PBL change your decision to attend or not attend Mac?
- How was the course load first year?
- Would you say the courses are nursing specific? I was comparing the programs between different universities. It looks like other universities have “Chemistry for Nursing”, but nursing students at Mac take the same chemistry courses as Life Sci and Health Sci students. Does anyone see that a negative?
- Why did you choose McMaster over all the other universities? Do you regret your decision or think there are other things you should’ve considered?
- Any advice?
Old 02-09-2014 at 08:50 PM   #2
browneyedgirl

Liked: 2 Times

Hi there! I'm so glad to hear you're considering nursing at mac! I'm in first year and I'd be happy to answer some of your questions, especially since they seem to resemble a lot of the questions I had going in.

What exactly is PBL?