MacInsiders Logo

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
same course, different prof Joyceyblank First-Year / Prospective Student Questions 1 01-05-2012 10:51 AM
Physics 1B03 prof question The Effekt Academics 0 06-13-2011 06:46 PM
How can you tell if your prof is in to you? Rakim General Discussion 32 03-11-2011 01:54 AM
Researching online just got easier! KristaG MacInsiders Announcements 7 03-10-2010 09:20 AM
prof got fired??? macculkin Academics 10 10-15-2009 08:45 PM

Question about researching with a Prof

Old 07-13-2012 at 08:33 PM   #1
gggggg

Liked: 53 Times

Question about researching with a Prof
If I want to ask a professor for volunteer or paid research opportunities for the fall, when should I start to ask? How do I approach the professor through the email? and should I still ask for paid position even though I have no previous research experience? Thanks for the help
Old 07-13-2012 at 09:30 PM   #2
oxelhs

Liked: 11 Times

I'm wondering the same thing.
Old 07-13-2012 at 09:36 PM   #3
Rayine
Elite Member

Liked: 207 Times

Chances are the profs in bio aren't going to have funding to support a student. I would start off by stating the REASONS behind your interest in his/her field of study. Then email saying you would be interested in working in their lab. They're likely to respond (actually, it's more likely they simply won't respond, but don't get too discouraged, as you might get a response for only 25% of the emails you send out). that they don't have the funding to support a student. Then say you would be willing to take a position as a volunteer. Hopefully they'll respond positively to this. Seeing as you have no previous research experience, don't push your luck with a paid position. First step is getting your foot in the door. If you do that, and they see you're useful, you can then trying to negotiate some form of monetary compensation.