MacInsiders Logo

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
sessional average? maryam17 Academics 1 05-01-2010 04:40 PM
Two Hundred McMaster Sessional Professors Face LayoffI lorend Academics 64 07-23-2009 12:55 PM
MacWork / McMaster Summer Work Program Application Questions. Kurt_ General Discussion 4 03-02-2009 02:07 PM

Questions on Diversity at McMaster and Sessional Profs

Old 03-22-2008 at 11:39 AM   #1
feonateresa
Elite Member

Liked: 196 Times

Questions on Diversity at McMaster and Sessional Profs
So I'm in my final year of highschool and I've already applied to McMaster and I've been accepted. I've also applied to universities in Toronto and have been accepted.

However, I've always known that McMaster is more known for engineering and health sciences and programs like that. I on the other hand, applied to social sciences. I'm a little worried about like, whether or not if the social sciences department is really respected as much as the next program, you know? So what do you guys think?

Also, this didn't worry me until I recently went on a campus tour a week ago, but I realized that there aren't many minorities on campus. I honestly felt a little uncomfortable because of the stares I received. I'm black and while I've hung out with whites and south/east asians my whole life, I don't know what the atmosphere is like at McMaster in terms of race. Toronto is fine because it's so multicultural, whereas Hamilton isn't so much. I mean, if I live on residence, I'll most likely end up with someone who doesn't have the same background, and I don't want to be disadvantaged because of it. Thoughts?
Old 03-22-2008 at 11:56 AM   #2
lorend
MacInsiders VP
MacInsiders Staff

Liked: 507 Times