MacInsiders Logo

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Farmstand Volunteering Farmstand Body & Food 0 05-23-2011 12:14 PM
Starting Today McMaster ER Closed to Adults - 18 and older must go to other Hospitals Chad MacInsiders Announcements 1 04-09-2011 10:43 AM
Volunteering off-campus kevcom General Discussion 9 02-14-2011 02:14 PM
Volunteering joannasmith First-Year / Prospective Student Questions 38 07-19-2009 12:24 AM

Volunteering at HHS hospitals in first year

Old 08-08-2011 at 11:03 AM   #16
lt93

Liked: 69 Times

I have volunteered at two different hospitals for the past three years Toronto East General Hospital and Toronto Western Hospital. I finished Toronto East at the end of high school but I did some more volunteering at Toronto Western this summer! I've had all different kinds of positions from paper work, gift shop, working at the information desk, patient care. As a student my favourite positions was as receptionist at the ICU/Surgical Waiting room at Toronto Western and Surgical Waiting room at Toronto East. That's where I felt the most helpful because as a relative it's hard to sit there waiting not knowing what is going on with your loved one and as a nurse/doctor you may not be able to give every relative the time they need so that's where I came in! I relayed information to the waiting relatives about the status of their loved ones and any messages the nurses had, and answered their questions if I could. AND during the not so busy times I got to do my homework cause I was at a desk lol.
Old 08-09-2011 at 06:00 PM   #17
zafarm

Liked: 0 Times

St. Joseph's Villa is in Dundas, just about 5 minutes away from Mac and is always looking for volunteers. Its a large nursing home but will help diversify your volunteer experience, if that's what you're looking for. I volunteered there during my first and second year and I ended up with many things to talk about during interviews.
Old 08-09-2011 at 06:41 PM   #18
Johnny162