MacInsiders Logo

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hello Canada! Icethunder Introduce Yourself 17 06-21-2010 02:40 PM
Canada For Haiti Infinity Volunteering Opportunities 46 01-26-2010 06:35 AM
It's Canada Day Up Canada Way!! temara.brown MacInsiders Announcements 2 07-01-2008 07:24 AM
Canada Day Fireworks Chad MacInsiders Announcements 0 06-29-2007 07:42 AM

Why Canada?

Old 08-01-2011 at 02:40 PM   #1
ishk33

Liked: 12 Times

Why Canada?
Okay, so I was just doing some research and I found out that compared to Canada and the US other countries are so flexible when it comes to degrees.
So what I mean by that is, once you've done BSc life scii in Canada.. you aren't left with that many options. It's almost like do or die.
I am graduating from Bsc Life Sci (honours) and if I don't end up going to med school then I have an option of doing masters in limited areas (which don't interest me). But then if I decide that I wanna do something else like Neuroscience.. I'd have to go back to university and re-do my bachelors in Neuroscience and then apply for a masters program in neuroscience and so on.
But with other places such as the UK, you can easily go for a post-graduate diploma or masters in neuroscience/microbiology etc straight from Bsc Life Science.

Why is it so inflexible in Canada? I don't get that :S It gets annoying, especially when "people" don't tell you the whole picture of university and EXACTLY what you're getting into. I have heard atleast 30 life science students complain about their future (no exaggeration there!)
I honestly wish things weren't so stiff here!
Old 08-01-2011 at 02:51 PM   #2
lizziepizzie
aka Mrs. Henry Cavill

Liked: 423 Times

We just have different standards, I guess. :shrugs: Don't you love being Canadian? Srs. I love being Canadian.

Old 08-01-2011 at 02:52 PM   #3
doppelganger

Liked: 65 Times