MacInsiders Logo

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tips for Commerce II vb101 Academics 6 06-08-2011 07:46 PM
New member, any tips? McMaster2013 Introduce Yourself 2 06-08-2010 10:47 PM
Tips for First Years adrian First-Year / Prospective Student Questions 9 09-04-2009 10:41 PM
memorizing student numbers lorend MacInsiders Announcements 6 08-27-2008 10:53 AM
Memorizing Engineering Formulas benjs Academics 2 07-28-2008 01:56 PM

Any tips on memorizing?

Old 02-09-2012 at 01:42 PM   #1
NahLeoNah
Account Locked

Liked: 2 Times

Any tips on memorizing?
I am not too good at retaining lots of information. Anyone who is good at writing multiple choice tests, and memorizing have any tips?

thanks!
Old 02-09-2012 at 02:15 PM   #2
Jessicaaaa

Liked: 42 Times

I find that when I am studying and there are a lot of processes to remember, I make up an acronym. Even if the acronym is all I end up remembering during the test I can usually deduce whether or not one of my acronym letters refers to that.

slx4 likes this.
Old 02-09-2012 at 03:49 PM   #3
qwerty91
Elite Member

Liked: 175 Times

If you have one particular course that is bad, write your notes out twice. But dont just copy it: try to reformat differently each time. This forces you to make connections.

ALSO remember on a multiple choice test, the key isnt to know the information it is to RECOGNIZE it. I found this method worked well for anatomy..which is basically pure memorization.

akeludjian likes this.
Old 02-09-2012 at 03:54 PM   #4
ZSimon
Elite Member

Liked: 311 Times

I find that when it comes to memorizing its best to start with an outline of all the terms and motifs and then trace their applications to the subject. Getting an understanding of how everything taught in a course applies to it's concentration can really make the process of learning and remembering seamless.