MacInsiders Logo

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
B. Tech! TerrenceMan First-Year / Prospective Student Questions 2 02-06-2013 10:01 AM
Admission to B.tech? categorical First-Year / Prospective Student Questions 5 06-24-2012 12:47 PM
B.TECH job opportunities shreebee First-Year / Prospective Student Questions 9 06-06-2012 01:59 PM
B.Tech to a P.Eng? Lolisuck First-Year / Prospective Student Questions 19 05-24-2010 07:41 PM
B.Tech :D insertname First-Year / Prospective Student Questions 0 06-30-2009 11:37 PM

b.tech

Old 05-12-2013 at 02:20 PM   #1
readingcrayon

Liked: 0 Times

b.tech
I'm a prospective student for 2013 and I applied for b.tech

As far I know, Biomedical engineering is competitive enough to only accept around 40 students in a class, but I've heard that there is the possibility of transferring from b.tech I to engineering II after the prerequisites are obtained. But, how would the transfer from b.tech biotechnology to a competitive stream such as Biomedical Eng II work? Is it realistic?

I'm not sure which b.tech stream would be best for transferring to engineering either.

I'm doubting it since there are already qualified engineeering I students applying to it, but I want to be sure.
Old 05-12-2013 at 02:31 PM   #2
jim1
Elite Member

Liked: 360 Times

Hi John, it's not possible to transfer from b.tech 1 to engineering 2. You need to go through engineering 1 and get the required average to get into biomedical after first year eng.

If you hear stories about people going from btech 1 to engineering 2, they used to be in eng 1 before that. Even then, they can't get into something competitive, if they do want to, they would have to go back to engineering 1 and get the required average.

If you realy want engineering, you can come back for a fifth year in high school and boost you average up and then go to engineering 1 next September. Transferring into engineering is not going to be easy, you need around a "B+" in btech 1.