MacInsiders Logo

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Electrical and biomedical eng weizz Academics 5 08-16-2011 08:51 PM
Biomedical Engineering naval23 Academics 9 08-10-2011 04:12 PM
Electrical and Biomedical Engineering w/ Management jp1390 Academics 8 06-05-2010 10:30 PM
Biomedical Specialization M&M&M&M First-Year / Prospective Student Questions 1 11-15-2009 11:36 AM
Electrical & Biomedical Engineering nytrogyn First-Year / Prospective Student Questions 27 03-21-2009 10:49 AM

Biomedical Engineering

Old 12-08-2011 at 07:16 PM   #1
Amrit

Liked: 0 Times

Biomedical Engineering
Hey, I'm a highschool student and I was just wondering is the biomedical engineering area competitive to get in at McMaster?

Because I did hear that it's by the second year you get to choose for what stream in engineering you want to go in and who gets in first is based on marks.
Old 12-08-2011 at 07:21 PM   #2
MacPack
Offical Deal Blogger
MacInsiders Staff

Liked: 160 Times

It varies year to year. It is a small program ~40

Biomed,like management, isnt included in free choice. Any other question, feel free to post here or PM me
Old 12-08-2011 at 07:43 PM   #3
qwerty91
Elite Member

Liked: 173 Times

its fairly competitive, but not the most. That said engineering in general is harsh compared to highschool. Its no walk in the park.

one thing to consider is that a lot of people change their mind in first year. I for example originally came for eng phys nanotech and ended up very happy in biomed (as first choice). Another example is maybe you decide Chem and Bio (the other side of biomed) or Mech and Bio (a program that has/is soon to launch??...another side of biomed) would be better than Elec and biomed. Some people just find they hate the elec part of first year physics (although its not really electrical).