MacInsiders Logo

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mac Computer Science from College Computer Technology steve2345 Academics 3 10-17-2010 07:20 PM
Computer HELP? blackdragon Computers & Tech 20 07-10-2010 09:36 PM
Need computer help! kokosas General Discussion 16 08-01-2008 08:14 AM

Computer RAM??

Old 02-14-2013 at 11:15 PM   #1
gallagaj

Liked: 19 Times

Computer RAM??
I've been trying to install a very important program on my computer but it told me I do not have enough memory. I tried deleting other programs off my computer but it did not help. Someone mentioned to me that memory is Ram and I could just buy more ram.
I am not very good with computers. Can anyone tell me what RAM is? and if/how I can go about getting more of it? Is it even worth it to buy more ram or would I be better off buying a new computer?
Somebody help please I need to get this program installed as soon as possible.

Entropy, Grover like this.
Old 02-14-2013 at 11:27 PM   #2
ofomkcidtae
Account Locked

Liked: 47 Times

RAM stands for Random Access Memory. It is used by your computer to quickly read/write data for a program being executed.

Perhaps you can elaborate on what program your trying to install, and what is the exact error.

Last edited by ofomkcidtae : 02-14-2013 at 11:36 PM.

gallagaj says thanks to ofomkcidtae for this post.

gallagaj likes this.
Old 02-15-2013 at 09:00 AM   #3
unsigned_int

Liked: 3 Times

If I may I would offer this analogy:

RAM is to a computer what a notepad/scratchpad is to a human.

My guess is that the way the program was written, the computer wants to store many values on its 'scratchpad' and finds that you do not have enough space for it to execute the instructions it wants to.