MacInsiders Logo

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mac Computer Science from College Computer Technology steve2345 Academics 3 10-17-2010 07:20 PM
Computer Science Sidd Academics 1 08-02-2010 01:04 PM
Computer Science Co-op julianface Academics 22 04-16-2010 05:35 PM
Computer Science dondada Academics 2 07-07-2008 01:20 PM

Computer Science - C++ or Java

Old 05-08-2012 at 01:55 PM   #1
Alexmahone
Elite Member

Liked: 64 Times

Computer Science - C++ or Java
Just wondering whether there is an introductory C++ or Java course in the 1st year. Although my major is math/stat, I'd like to take it as an elective (if it is there).
Old 05-08-2012 at 02:05 PM   #2
Moghue

Liked: 17 Times

The only introduction to programming course offered is Comp Sci 1MD3. I believe this course once focused on Java but has now switched to Python.

Alexmahone says thanks to Moghue for this post.
Old 05-08-2012 at 02:06 PM   #3
Alexmahone
Elite Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by Moghue View Post
The only introduction to programming course offered is Comp Sci 1MD3. I believe this course once focused on Java but has now switched to Python.
So if I took this course, I'd have to work with Python in the lab?

Edit: But the website, which was last updated on 10 Aug 2011, says that Java is used as the programming language of choice. Is this outdated?
Old 05-08-2012 at 02:10 PM   #4
Moghue

Quote:
Originally Posted by Alexmahone View Post
So if I took this course, I'd have to work with Python in the lab?
If the prof decides to use Python again this year (it was used for the 2011-2012 session) then yes, you will have to work with Python in the lab.

Old 05-08-2012 at 02:12 PM   #5
Moghue

Quote:
Edit: But the website, which was last updated on 10 Aug 2011, says that Java is used as the programming language of choice. Is this outdated?
From the Comp Sci 1MD3 course outline (2011-2012, Term 1):

Quote: