MacInsiders Logo

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Minor in Software Engineering? Jeger First-Year / Prospective Student Questions 19 06-11-2010 02:25 AM
Minor in Software Engineering? Jeger Academics 2 06-08-2010 03:38 PM
Software Engineering & Management TheAxtmann Academics 16 06-02-2010 08:20 AM
Software Engineering Courses... EngLufLuf Academics 1 02-21-2010 11:59 PM
Recommended Computer Software mellye First-Year / Prospective Student Questions 23 07-27-2009 10:54 PM

Difference between Computer and Software Engineering?

Old 11-22-2008 at 05:11 PM   #1
Ownaginatios
Trolling ain't easy

Liked: 1,642 Times

Difference between Computer and Software Engineering?
I'm in first year engineering right now and I know I want to do either one of these next year, but I don't really know the differences between the two. I like programming, and did it for three years in high school. I didn't have much experience with circuits outside of simple logic gates and stuff thought. Can anyone in either of these fields give me some advice?

Right now I'm thinking embedded systems in Software engineering since everyone on the internet seems to always need new/better drivers :p That would be kind of cool to be one of those guys that hacks operating systems on to devices that they were never intended for... well, at least to an engineer. :p
Old 11-22-2008 at 07:13 PM   #2
DannyV
Elite Member

Liked: 207 Times

Computer Engineering is more concerned with circuit analysis, digital circuits, logic, different computer and architectures, networking protocols and the like. You do get the chance to work with some embedded circuits and real-time systems too.

Software engineering (I presume) focuses more on algorithms and algorithm development as well as software quality issues. You learn software development processes and steps to follow and some other stuff which I'm sure a software eng on here can expand upon.
Old 11-23-2008 at 08:10 AM   #3
kenvin100