MacInsiders Logo

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Humanities luna First-Year / Prospective Student Questions 6 07-17-2010 06:25 AM
Humanities Convocation ange.kwok Academics 2 06-03-2010 07:28 PM
Humanities?? De La Soul First-Year / Prospective Student Questions 16 05-31-2010 11:24 PM
Chris Erl for Humanities Rep on your SRA! c.erl General Discussion 10 10-22-2009 08:16 AM
Oh the HUMANITIES! DannyV Academics 6 08-03-2009 10:48 AM

What do you want from a Humanities/Soc Sci TA

Old 06-14-2010 at 07:55 PM   #1
lorend
MacInsiders VP
MacInsiders Staff

Liked: 506 Times

What do you want from a Humanities/Soc Sci TA
Mike posted a thread about this last year, but it related to Math TAs.

I will be a TA next year, but not at Mac: I'm an MA student in Carleton's Canadian Studies program. I have no idea what class I'll be teaching, but I assume it will be one of the second year Indigenous-related courses, or one of the first year seminars.

If you could give me some feedback, it would be great! Specifically:

What do you want from your TA?
How do you feel you should be graded for participation?
How should discussions of the course material work?
What have you liked about past TAs?
What have you disliked about past TAs?
How often should your TA respond to emails?

I will have more questions, but I think this is more than enough to start for now.

We are people of this generation, bred in at least modest comfort, housed in universities, looking uncomfortably into the world we inherit. -- Port Huron Statement

Old 06-14-2010 at 08:06 PM   #2
Goce
Elite Member

Liked: 36 Times

Quote:
Originally Posted by lorend View Post

I will be a TA next year, but not at Mac: I'm an MA student in Carleton's Canadian Studies program. I have no idea what class I'll be teaching, but I assume it will be one of the second year Indigenous-related courses, or one of the first year seminars.

If you could give me some feedback, it would be great! Specifically: