MacInsiders Logo

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Failing a Second Year Course Schevene Academics 5 12-17-2013 09:25 AM
Is 3rd year Enviro Sci course or 3rd year psych courses easier? lovekblue Academics 2 02-28-2013 09:12 AM
Failing First Year redwine Academics 34 12-19-2011 09:19 PM
One full year OR 2 half year courses? ak21 Academics 5 07-13-2011 04:55 PM
Taking second year courses in third/fourth year b.m. Academics 1 07-27-2010 10:37 PM

Failing 2 courses in first year soc sic

Old 12-28-2013 at 11:20 PM   #1
aldo123

Liked: 0 Times

Failing 2 courses in first year soc sic
I'm currently in first year in social science. I went through the death of my grandpa. If I failed psych and math can i still more on in university? I want to apply for a B.A. in health and aging! I'm really panicing HELP!!
Old 12-28-2013 at 11:31 PM   #2
SweetyTweety
Elite Member

Liked: 165 Times

If you're asking about staying in university, you'll need a gpa of 3.0+, otherwise, you'll be kicked out, but you have a good reason for performing poorly, so you'll likely get reinstated next year.
If you try really hard next semester, you shouldn't have that problem.
If you just want to get into a 3-year B.A program, requirements aren't too high, so, again, if you try really hard next semester, you should still be okay. You didn't mention anything about your other grades. If the courses you passed are in the C and D range, it makes things much more difficult.

Anyway, I wouldn't panic; what's done is done. Worst case scenario: you get kicked out, apply for reinstatement, and start over fresh.
Best case scenario: you get straight A's and B's next semester and make the cut-off GPA required for your program.

aldo123 says thanks to SweetyTweety for this post.
Old 12-28-2013 at 11:37 PM   #3
aldo123