MacInsiders Logo

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Putting H1N1 Into Perspective Taunton General Discussion 23 11-06-2009 11:14 PM
TA's are not legally REQUIRED to strike samikas General Discussion 52 11-03-2009 06:18 PM
Coming to Mac: My Perspective rlevitin General Discussion 13 07-31-2007 09:21 AM
First Year Experience Series Part Eleven: Ron Chad First Year Experiences 0 07-27-2007 07:49 PM

First year Math - A TA's Perspective

Old 08-25-2009 at 02:07 PM   #1
Mowicz
Elite Member

Liked: 529 Times

First year Math - A TA's Perspective
Hey guys.

Again if you don't know me, my name is Mike and I'm a graduate student in the department of Math and Stats. I'm not sure if anyone is aware, but there is a lot of research being done looking into why first year students don't do as well in university level math, even when they have done very well in highschool.

I was recently asked to give my input as to why I think this is, and it is as follows:

Quote:
Originally posted by: Mowicz

I report this information with the following authority:

-I TA'd Math 1N03 in Fall 2006
-I regularly tutor students in Calculus/Linear Algebra
-And naturally, I experienced being a first year calculus student myself

That being said, I believe [students don't perform as well] simply because students don't use the resources they have in front of them. There are so many effective tools (that I luckily, took advantage of) such as the Math Help Centre, the Mathematics Review Manual, and Professor/TA office hours. I believe there are three factors which inhibit student usage of said resources:

1) A lack of knowledge - It is surprising how many students do not know a resource even exists...even though efforts are clearly put forth to advertise them.