Headphones Recommendation Amaryll Computers & Tech 42 02-15-2011 04:26 AM
course textbook recommendation scarletfire Academics 6 06-28-2010 12:15 PM

Foreign Language Course Recommendation

Old 12-26-2013 at 11:47 PM   #1
zatheyng

Liked: 1 Time

Foreign Language Course Recommendation
Hello,

I am an upper year student looking for electives to take for my program, so ideally something I can still get a good grade in without crazy amounts of work. I am interested in learning another language other than English and French, and was wondering if anyone knew about the language courses offerred at Mac, such as the difficulty and teaching style?

I was looking at Russian, German, and Greek. I also saw Japanese, but it kind of turned me off that it was 6 credit intro course.

Can someone comment if they have taken the beginner courses to any of these?

Thanks.
Old 12-27-2013 at 12:54 AM   #2
oldviking

Liked: 18 Times

Russian, German and Japanese are run by the Linguistics and Languages Dept. Greek by Classics. You won't find a better or more engaging language teacher than Dr. Nikolai Penner for German. He has started in the last year or so to use the method of TPRS, which is Total Physical Response with Storytelling. Rather than waste a lot of your personal time with learning vocabulary lists and grammar rules, time in class is used to tell and make up stories. This is actually a very productive method, justified by modern research into language acquisition, that involves students more thoroughly during class time and results in real mastery of the language. He promises very little homework. Tests are brief, often and fair. He marks generously and takes a real interest in everyone's progress. I believe the introductory course is usually in Summer evenings. The follow-up courses are in 3-unit chunks in the fall and winter semesters.
Old 12-27-2013 at 02:20 AM   #3
akikokoyoki
The Welcome Wagon
MacInsiders Staff

Liked: 101 Times