MacInsiders Logo

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What laptop is best for university? kateharrison First-Year / Prospective Student Questions 61 08-13-2012 01:11 PM
Help with choosing a laptop for university solabd First-Year / Prospective Student Questions 11 08-14-2011 03:32 PM
Buying a laptop from Titles? anon491 First-Year / Prospective Student Questions 2 08-13-2010 12:04 PM
buying a laptop cjdzl Computers & Tech 5 07-22-2010 12:58 PM
Laptop Buying Tips Chad Technology 224 09-02-2009 02:48 PM

General Guide to buying a laptop for University

Old 08-05-2012 at 10:43 AM   #1
Leeoku
MacInsiders Staff

Liked: 521 Times

General Guide to buying a laptop for University
Seeing how it is getting closer to school year and more threads are being posted up about what laptop to get or laptop comparison threads I figured that making one megathread would organize it all together and provide useful information in the original post.

Disclaimer: I'm not a pro at computers but have some knowledge. Perhaps other members on MI can also drop in useful tips and I can post it up in the OP. Flame wars between Mac and PC will not be tolerated, pure discussion and comparison is allowed.

Edit: Since an original purpose of this thread was to throw all the info into one thread was frowned upon, be sure to search macinsiders/google for more info. This thread is simply for convenience of information all in one space.

Chad has made a guide 3 years back but is a bit outdated. You can check it here.
http://www.macinsiders.com/showthrea...3.html?t=22113

1)Budget