MacInsiders Logo

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Are you in Humanities? Do you have friends in Humanities? De La Soul Academics 2 03-05-2012 10:49 PM
Humanities I J. Dorey Academics 6 08-10-2011 01:19 AM
Humanities luna First-Year / Prospective Student Questions 6 07-17-2010 06:25 AM
Humanities?? De La Soul First-Year / Prospective Student Questions 16 05-31-2010 11:24 PM
Oh the HUMANITIES! DannyV Academics 6 08-03-2009 10:48 AM

Humanities questions!

Old 07-22-2013 at 03:39 PM   #1
CSpad

Liked: 0 Times

Humanities questions!
Hi! I'm in first year humanities and don't know what I want to major in.

I currently have:

Term 1: French, Linguistics I, Classics, Anthro (1AB3), and Latin.
Term 2: French, Linguistics II, English Short genres, English long genres, and Philosophy.

1. Is it bad to have both English courses in the same term?

2. Is this course load uneven between the terms?

3. Should I drop Latin and Philosophy to take full-year Spanish?

4. Should I drop Latin and Philosophy to take full-year Poli Sci?

5. Whats Latin like? Is it very difficult?

I don't know what I want to major in, I'm just trying to take a variety of courses. I think Spanish would be practical because so many people speak it, including in the US. I also think Poli-Sci would be interesting.

Also, any over-all advice for these courses and first year humanities in general would be greatly appreciated!
Old 07-22-2013 at 04:38 PM   #2
akikokoyoki
The Welcome Wagon
MacInsiders Staff

Liked: 101 Times

Question: what type of French are you taking? Is it 1Z06, 1K06 or 1A06?

1. No it's not bad to have both English in one term. As long as you can handle the various readings you have to do for both of them, then you will be fine. These classes tend to have long essays. If you can do them I'd say go for it.

2. The course load seems fine with me, as long as you can handle it